Sprue Cutters Union #5: Philosophy

This week’s topic i think should prove a very interesting and insightful one for me as i read through my fellow contributor’s posts. If you visit any modelling forum outthere the topic surfaces once in awhile and not uncommonly it is a source of heated debate and even worse. People get banned over the issue as some feel very passionate about it.

In fact, my very first post on this blog was directly related to this weeks topic. Let me quote myself here:

“I truly believe in the “KISS” method, translated as: “Keep It Simple Stupid”. I am really noticing a tendency within the hobby of reasonably new to the scene modellers who think it’s crucial for a good looking model to have all sorts of extra’s like Photo etched metal, resin and you name it crammed into it. While i am not against the use of such items i do strongly believe that it is in no way neccessary.

With a strong arsenal of basic painting and weathering techniques using simple and easy to find tools you should be easily transforming your cheap and basic model into a stunning looking piece of work that will blow a poorly painted model filled with all kinds of aftermarket goodies straight out of the water.

In direct relation to this is my strong aversion to the kind of modeller that is often referred to as “rivet counter”. Such people who admittedly often have great knowledge on a given subject nevertheless totally miss the true meaning of the hobby: Having fun. 

This should be the first and biggest drive of any modeller in my opinion. Once you spend a whole lot of time arguing about the correct location of a bolt on a model and away from the bench you are taking away from the true meaning of the hobby.”

And it says perfectly what i feel is my “philosophy” in the hobby. Having fun is my main drive and if i happen to be super historically correct and have a uber accurate model on my shelf after i finish it i would really like that. But i dont feel accuracy is law and doctrine to me. It’s a nice extra to be able to do it if i can.

Actually, reading back my own words in the quote i caught myself using a phrase like “This should be what a modeller aims for”. Bad Kermie!!

While i stand by my opinion about rivet counters and them missing the true point of having a hobby i will be the last person to judge another modeller for using (or avoiding) aftermarket gear, wanting to aim for accuracy or only building stuff from certain brands or whatever they do that rocks their boat. Just….have…..fun!

And now that you guys have read about my personal view on the matter i would like to add a little.

A couple of weeks back i read a post on Doog’s Models page that ended up really making me think about my approach. He spoke about how a modeller grows by constantly trying to reach outside their comfort zone and avoid complacency. I then started to think and look at what i recently completed that had “new stuff” done to it i did not try before. And shamefully came to the conclusion i kinda didn’t…. I just merrily bought, assembled, painted and weathered kits with the techniques i learned. And needless to say i did have fun doing it in the process.

So i started concluding that, while i stand behind my previous philosophy of having fun, i readjust this view nowadays by also asking myself if i am also challenging myself. Matt really struck a nerve with me by writing what he wrote and i thank him for it because he was right and i was becoming lazy and not growing. Do try the next level!

But first and foremost, always ask yourself the question: “am i having fun with this?” If the answer the question with a solid yes, you can’t possibly be far off from doing wrong.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Sprue Cutters Union #5: Philosophy

  1. Well said Mr Kermit. The hobby should be fun, enjoyable and relaxing. All the rest is for giggles, however some do forget to giggle.

  2. Pingback: Sprue Cutters Union #5 | David Knights' Weblog

  3. That’s such a simple but critical point to make bud. If you aren’t having fun, what are you getting out of the hobby?

    One question floating around the wargaming community is the one about ensuring that not only you have fun fighting a battle, but that your opponent too is enjoying themselves, which I guess is the social contract I enter into as a wargamer.

    • The analogy fits perfectly doesn’t it? You are, as a wargamer challenging yourself and the other player yet you have fun doing it and enjoying the social interaction connected to it. Take any hobby as serious as you want but it becomes pointless once it is not a fun experience

  4. Pingback: Sprue Cutters Union #5: Philosophy | Lt. Smash's Models

Leave a Reply

